The United Nations charter beign signed

The charter of the United Nations is the foundational treaty of the United Nations. The UN Charter articulated a commitment to defend human rights of citizens and defined a broad set of principles related to achieving higher standards of living.

It was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization, and came into force on 24 October 1945. The Statute of the International Court of Justice is an integral part of the Charter.

The UN Charter sets out four main purposes:

  1. To maintain international peace and security.
  2. To develop friendly relations among nations based on respect for the principle of equal rights and self-determination
  3. To achieve international co-operation in solving international problems.
  4. To be a centre for harmonizing the actions of nations.

Principles that must be present in these purposes:

  1. The Organization is based on the principle of the sovereign equality of all its Members.
  2. All Members shall fulfill in good faith.
  3. All Members shall settle their international disputes by peaceful means to mantain  international peace and security, and justice.
  4. All Members shall avoid conflicts in their international relations from the threat or use of force.
  5. All Members shall give the United Nations every assistance in any action.
  6. States which are not Members of the United Nations should act in accordance with these Principles so far as may be necessary for the maintenance of international peace and security.